When starting a new fiscal year, groups/accounts can be moved to any category or group as long as no transactions have been posted to the checkbook. Once transactions are posted, the expense groups and accounts are locked into their category and/or group. These restrictions only apply to NTS versions 4.99.3 and below. NTS versions 5.00 and above do not have these restrictions.
There are two ways to move an account after transactions have been posted.
- Delete all the transactions you have posted after which you can move the accounts around. This is really only an option at the very beginning of a new fiscal year.
- Create a new account in the group it needs to be in and then delete the account out of the other group. An account can only be deleted if it has not been used in the current year. If any transactions use the account you need to delete, those transactions will first have to be edited and changed to use the new account.
A third option is to wait until the beginning of the next fiscal year to move the accounts. At the beginning of a new year, it is possible to make any changes desired. This is the best and easiest way to make changes to the account structure.